Day 3 of the 30 Day Writing Challenge

First Kiss – First Love

This topic has one simple answer….. Robert DePalo.

For those who know me, they know our story of true love. For those who don’t here is our crazy love story and yes we are still together.

July 4th, 1984 in Brookyn, New York , neighbors and friends were having a holiday backyard barbecue. The neighbor Joyce was dating a guy name Robert C. He  planned to bring his friend Robert aka Bob to meet Joyce’s girlfriend Maria.

Are you confused yet?

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

Well long story short, Bob never meet Maria, instead he met me.

After the barbecue everyone piled into cars to head down to the beach to see the fireworks. The car I was in, did not have enough seat space so I sat on Bob’s lap. Yes I a naive girl at the time and he was a stoned man. While we were at the beach, a tense situation arose, my mom refused to let me hang close to Bob. This caused him to think I was angry with him or didn’t like him.  The reality of the situation was, I was in love.

After the beach, we piled back in the car an went to the local ice cream places Jahns.

The same night in front of my mom’s house (I was 16), Bob(was 27) asked me to marry him and I said yes!  No mom, nor my absentee dad were happy at the time.

It was an instant connection and a true love which has lasted almost 32 years

Despite my wishes to marry before I was 18, my parents refused to yield to my request. On June 22, 1986 we had a big Italian wedding, surrounded by friends and family.

This June we will celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, by renewing our vows.

Our first kiss was a few days later in Bob’s 76 Grand Prix. He parked around the corner from my house, as we sat in the car kissing, pouring rain pounding the windows…. my brother Jon (1 year my junior) ran up to the car, in shorts, no shirt or shoes on and watched us through the back window kiss.

TRUE LOVE STORY!

People ask me all the times knowing what I know now would I do it again?

The answer is YES, YES, YES!

Please share your first kiss or love with us  in the comment section.

Have a blessed day!

Thanks,

Author Wen Dee

Leave a Reply

